Motor slows down after a minute at WOT

You can talk about almost anything here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

dman535

Motor slows down after a minute at WOT

Post by dman535 »

My Forty Plus starts up great - runs well. Except that when I go wide open I get about a minute or so of full power then the motors backs off a bit, even surges a bit - which leans toward a fuel issue in my mind.

After I throttle down for a minute or two - the motors runs WOT again no problem. Then the cycle repeats.

Any ideas on what to check or look at? I cleaned out the carb - motor doesn't seem to have fue issues - but I am no expert. Is there a tank filter I should check?

Any other ideas?

Thanks

Derek.-
Waggles

Post by Waggles »

Hi Derek,

If you could post the engine number the real experts could probably be more specific.

Yes, it does sound like fuel starvation ( mixture going weak as the fuel supply can't keep up with the demand at WOT ) Assuming you have the most common villiers carbed 40+ there most certainly is a tank filter to check, its on the top of the fuel tap, just remove the tap, there is also another in the 'banjo' connection where the fuel line connects to the carb. Check also you don't have an air lock / bubble / sediment / goo in the fuel line.

There are other things that could cause this ( like an air leak somewhere that only opens up fully when hot - motors can get very cranky when they have air leaks ) but I would check the filters first.
dman535

Post by dman535 »

The number is : FP 2311-bb6

I have had a few other posts dealing with a crank-case leak. I did an external seal with some high temp rtv silicone. Its stopped the leak - and the motor seems to run better than it did before. Its still got this WOT problem.

Thanks

Derek.-
Keith.P

Post by Keith.P »