Coil question

You can talk about almost anything here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

Post Reply
lodgey62
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:27 pm
Location: Ripponden

Coil question

Post by lodgey62 »

Will a mk3 Wipac coil replace a mk2 Wipac?
User avatar
Charles uk
Posts: 4773
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:38 pm
Location: Maidenhead Berks UK

Re: Coil question

Post by Charles uk »

Yes if you change the base plate, CDI, flywheel, starter cup/spacer & flywheel nut & washer, you basically need to change the complete ignition/starter system.
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
lodgey62
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:27 pm
Location: Ripponden

Re: Coil question

Post by lodgey62 »

But a mk3 coil won't directly replace a mk2 Coil?
User avatar
Hugz
Posts: 3249
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:41 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Coil question

Post by Hugz »

List of magnetos:
JM coolie hat villiers coil with points
Mk1 villiers coil with points
Mk2 wipac coil with points
Mk3 CDI
Mk4 CDi
User avatar
fleetingcontact
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 6:47 pm
Location:

Re: Coil question

Post by fleetingcontact »

Hi Lodgey

You see, Charles thinks his reply is witty and amusing. You'll get used to this sort of thing if you stick around long enough.

No, you can not substitute a mk3 coil for a mk2. You cannot, to the best of my knowledge, swap any parts from one ignition system to another with the possible exception of perhaps the 'coolie' hat and the mk1 but to be honest I don't know for sure.

You can replace an entire system with another. Many older engines now sport a system that they were not originally fitted with. Any one you like.

In my humble opinion, mk4 cdi units are far more available than the mk3. So go with that if you want breakerless. But one glance at ebay will tell you that you can find a mk2 replacement coil anytime. The rest you'll have to be more patient.
lodgey62
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:27 pm
Location: Ripponden

Re: Coil question

Post by lodgey62 »

Thank you MrFleeting,an answer that I can understand,thanks
Regards
Lodgey.
Horsley-Anarak
Posts: 2760
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:42 pm
Location: Surrey

Re: Coil question

Post by Horsley-Anarak »

lodgey62 wrote:Will a mk3 Wipac coil replace a mk2 Wipac?
No it will not fit.

But it will fit if you (as Charles correctly said without any waffle) "Yes if you change the base plate, CDI, flywheel, starter cup/spacer & flywheel nut & washer, you basically need to change the complete ignition/starter system."

"Charles thinks his reply is witty and amusing. You'll get used to this sort of thing if you stick around long enough"

Strange comment I would say.


H-A
User avatar
Charles uk
Posts: 4773
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:38 pm
Location: Maidenhead Berks UK

Re: Coil question

Post by Charles uk »

It wasn't meant to be a witty answer, just 100% accurate, my role as a moderator is to ensure accuracy, many people upgrade their ignitions to CDI's especially the guys that race Seagulls!
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
User avatar
Oyster 49
Posts: 3173
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:55 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Re: Coil question

Post by Oyster 49 »

Perfectly sensible answer and good advice, if you want to fit a later coil unit all the parts need to be changed. As a set. It is what it is.
Post Reply