Not really the right seagull?

Having problems with a Seagull? - ask an expert here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

Algordo83

Not really the right seagull?

Post by Algordo83 »

Hi from Maroochydore, QLD, Australia.
I'm Al.
So, I was given a little boat recently. She's a 10ft tinny with a displacement style shape (As opposed to a flat 'punt' style tinny.)

I have little experience in boating etc but the offer of a free boat with all the awesome fishing in the waterways where i live was too great to turn down. :)

So I fixed up the boat , got the trailer going and looked for an outboard. .

"You can have this " said the father in law.. And produced a seagull from his shed. Proper nice bloke my F.I.L..

WSPCL 623HH7. (1977 silver century plus, long shaft clutch, yes??)

Well. I like to research so I now known a bit about these old motors. Enough to get the old beast running pretty well and looking relatively tidy. It only needed a good strip and clean and the cooling impeller turning the correct way round so it actually pumps water (Yes, really. Ha ha)

Anyway. Me and the Mrs had a good 3 hours out on the water today and apart from the sunburn and the clogged fuel filter .. (should have cleaned the tank better, quick blow through and we were away again ).. It was a great day. Superb little motor.

But my.. she's slow. .
This is a 10 foot ally boat, so light I can pick it up over my head, two people on board plus picnic and fishing gear.
Top speed on the GPS is 7km/h in still water with a light cross breeze . It seems to run fine and revs its tits off at full throttle. Earplugs at the ready. Ha ha

Isn't that a bit slow though ?

I know these motors are not designed to push quickly and I'm certainly not expecting to get up on the plane, but being overtaken by a 10 year old on a stand up paddle board is somewhat embarrassing.