Any big gulls in the US?

You can talk about almost anything here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

andrew
Site Admin

Any big gulls in the US?

Post by andrew »

In the US is is rare to see a 102 or even century up for sale, at least on the internet. The vast majority for sale in last few years are 40's, ranging from SJP to about SEFPC. So I can tell Seagulls were imported in good quantities from at least the 60s to 90s, and there is lots of literature available advertising the full range of models in the US during this same time period. Yet rarely anything bigger than a 40 for sale.

I never considered I would reach this point, but I've finally had my fill of 40s. Now have 9, of which 7 are runners, of which 5 were thorough rebuilds, of which 2 are bistas. The remaining 2 were scavenged, so are really just a collection of parts and not enough to get another bista together. So, while I am by no means an expert on the 40s, my interest in them has subsided for the time being (that being said I am ALWAYS in the market for any gull in good original condition, which do come up from time to time!).

My question on the forum is, where are all the big guys?! I'd love to get a few 102s on the rack. I don't necessarily need a wartime SD (which would be fantastic), but surely some have migrated over the last 70 years. For example this one in the UK would be an ideal project for me, but alas distance and shipping are the usual barriers. https://ebay.us/p1426X

Welcome any thoughts or leads anyone may have. Thanks!
african imp

Re: Any big gulls in the US?

Post by african imp »

Bravo !

We have moved in a similar way, I once thought that the older 102 series was not that great, then I had a box of parts with some 102 power heads was given to me, slowly and I mean very slowly, I started looking at them and one by one I have produced two such motors, with another one being planed.