which seagull

Talk about and buy or sell boats that are suited to Seagull outboards here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

burrowboy
which seagull

Post by burrowboy »

Hi I wonder if anyone can help a complete novice. I've just bought my first boat (a skipper 14) at the tender age of 62, thats me not the boat. I have heard about how good seagulls are and I will be looking to buy one in the near future but I don't know which one to get or whether it needs to be short standard or long shaft. I have heard that 2hp would be quite adequate. If anyone can help I would be most grateful.
Keith.P

Re: which seagull

Post by Keith.P »

A 2hp to 4hp would be OK, but this would also depend on were you are using the boat, inland water or at sea.
Its always nice to have some extra power at sea when needed, but not so much inland.
And would also depend on what you intend to use it for, as the boat is a small sailing boat.
I asked a question about one of my outboards, It weights about 10st and was told an 8ft tender would be OK, It was not this site.
skyetoyman

Post by skyetoyman »

4hp short shaft. If you get one with a clutch it will make things easier. Direct drives push the boat as soon as you pull the cord , so you do have more things to think about at the same time. However it does give the observers on the shore something a little more interesting to watch
LLS c 1961 on a crescent 42 boat c 1980 + wspcl c 1976 + 102 SD8561 c 1944 + 102 ACR 1948
Charles uk

Post by Charles uk »

Go down to where your planning on using your Skipper or to the closest marina to there & start talking to everyone there about Seagulls, I'm sure you will find someone with one who will let you try it out , so you can see if it's suitable, you never know you might end up with it, good luck.
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
burrowboy

Post by burrowboy »

Thanks for the info all of you at least that gives me something else to consider.