bought a 102 on ebay- progress or lack of it so far

Having problems with a Seagull? - ask an expert here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

blue

bought a 102 on ebay- progress or lack of it so far

Post by blue »

bought a 102 whcl---started it quite easily on old fuel---then put in new fuel---it ran well- --pumped water well then the magneto base locking screw came loose and it stopped---i had a lot of difficulty finding right spot to relocate the locking screw but think i have found it---tried to start but no spark---the lead between the coil and condenser was broken so took it to local auto electrician and he replaced it ---but---on turning the engine slowly by hand the points seem to stay open then briefly close then open again---i am new to this but shouldn t the points stay closed then briefly open which is the exact opposite of whats happening at the moment----advice please---regards barry
40TPI
Location: North Buckinghamshire, 110 miles south of Yorkshire, England.

Re: bought a 102 on ebay- progress or lack of it so far

Post by 40TPI »

No, the dwell angle on a Model 102 Villiers Mk1 magneto is approximately 39 degrees. It isn't particularly critical to within a slack handful of degrees either way.............and here's the usual picture of "one I did earlier"..........

Peter
Attachments
Dscf0798Redit.jpg
blue

Post by blue »

thanks for reply 40TPI--sorry do not understand dwell angle---looked at points again since first post---for each revolution of the flywheel they stay open then close briefly once----i thought it should be the opposite way round and that they should stay closed and open briefly once----regards barry
Hugz

Post by Hugz »

That sounds right, they stay open while the condensor charges up and then close once per revolution which shoots off the charge to the primary coil which energises the secondary to the spark. The cam on the end of the crank has one high point which pushes the points together.